Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Ph and Alfalfa Question

Old 07-01-2006, 11:41 AM

Default Ph and Alfalfa Question

I just got my soil test report back from the University of Missouri Extension and my pH showed 5.6. To get my pH to 6.8 their recommendation on the effective neutralizing material at 710. My lime supplier's guarantee is 400 lbs. per ton. Doing the math on these numbers says I need 1.75 tons per acre or 8.9 ton for the 5 acres. I'm not an expert on this but it seems to me this is not a lot of lime to get the pH increase from 5.6 to 6.8. I want to have enough lime spread to get pH to 7.0 to plant alfalfa (alfarack) this August. Looking for thoughts from you guys who are knowledgable on this.
Thanks for all replies.
Old 07-01-2006, 01:02 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Ph and Alfalfa Question

This is July, I don't think the bulk lime will not work that fast. We've always allowed at least 6 months.
Old 07-01-2006, 01:22 PM

Timbercruiser, I agree on the 6 months before I get any increase in pH but I wanted to put it in for a fall planting for less weed competition. I have sprayed and will disc in the lime in the next several weeks. Any growth I get this fall will give me a jump over planting it next spring plus the fact of less weeds. I will fertilize with 0-40-20 next spring when the pH should be better for the plants to receive the nutrients. My main concern is getting the right amount of lime down soon so I can get to a pH of 7.0 in the future (6 to 12 months). 8.9 tons of lime seemed like a small amount for a 5 acre planting with a pH of 5.6 I just want to be sure I can get to the 7.0 pH goal. Any thoughts on the amount of lime to reach 7.0, timbercruiser ? Thanks.
Old 07-01-2006, 02:10 PM