Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Anyone bowhunt without camo?

Old 09-15-2002, 11:35 AM

Default Anyone bowhunt without camo?

I'm new to bowhunting this year and work on a limited budget. After purchasing the bow and accessories, licenses, ammo for muzzleloader and rifle season, there isn't much left for camo. And it is darned expensive.

Every deer that I have killed with a muzzleloader or rifle has been within 20 yards except 1. I'm wondering how "necessary" camo is. I don't deny that there are advantages to it, I'm just wondering if there are any bowhunters out there that don't use it?

Old 09-15-2002, 11:48 AM

Default RE: Anyone bowhunt without camo?

i have hunted in a pair of bluejean's and red and black checkered flannel before, it's a person's prefrence, my one hunting buddy think's he need's to be painted in camo, while my granddad wore a pair of bib overall's and a flannel and got his deer every year until he went to the great hunting grounds. as long as you can be still and quite that's the main key. goodluck
Old 09-15-2002, 03:43 PM

The best camo I use and continue to use is Olive Drab jackets and pants. They work really good in all conditions!

"Be as a whisper in the wind."
-Jim-
Old 09-15-2002, 05:37 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'd worry about your smell more than camo. If you have a good background behind you, and don't move around a lot, you should be fine. I'm sure Fred Bear killed a lot of deer without camo.
Just take your time and hunt smart. Have fun.

Old 09-15-2002, 08:51 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 09-15-2002, 09:01 PM
Typical Buck