Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deer Everywhere!!!

Old 03-24-2005, 02:32 PM

Default Deer Everywhere!!!

I'm a farmer in Indiana and I was given a temporary permit to shoot deer because they're eating up one of my hay fields very badly. This morning I went out to the field at 5:30 a.m. and saw 18 in a matter of fifteen minutes. My permit allows me to kill as many as 10 deer. What is the best way to bag as many as possible on the first day? Do I wait for them to all get on the field at the same time and then blast as many as possible, or do I pick off the first one that comes out and hope that the others in the back don't heed the warning. I'd appreciate any comments you have. Thanks!!!
Old 03-24-2005, 02:44 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: Deer Everywhere!!!

Head shots bud. And singles away from the group on the edge of the field and that still don't guarantee you that all won't bolt. If you hit em and they run, they will all run. Since you can't do it like the professional groups with silencers and at night, you might have count on getting one here and there for a while. Problem with head shots is you have a good chance of missing unless they are close. And injurying one really isn't a great option either. So I take back my head shot statement.

I have talked to some groups that do it contracted by communities, and they say they get head shots, and the deer drop instantely, and don't spook the others as much.

Sounds like you will be eating well this year.

Old 03-24-2005, 03:34 PM

The first thing you want to do while TROLLING is loosing your drag up...
Old 03-24-2005, 04:11 PM

what does trolling have to do with deer hunting?