Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

tracking

Old 11-17-2004, 02:07 PM
Spike

Default tracking

this is my first year hunting and i finally got a shot at a nice big doe. it was 5:33 pm and i took the shot 38.5yds and saw the arrow go right into her just behind the shoulder. she staggered 4 steps then took off. i waited 30mins then went looking. hear is the ?? i found absolutely no blood what so ever and am 100% sure i hit her. i went looking the next morn and when i realized there wasnt anyblood i went looking where she went into the woods. i walked in circles for 6hrs and didnt find anything. i did howvevr realize i washad walked through about 6 diff sets of beds.. will the deer return to them or did i really screw up??
Old 11-17-2004, 03:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: tracking

The deer will come back to their beds or bed in that same general area if you do not put to much pressure on them. Dont worry. About the doe--did you find the arrow? If it stuck in her and did not penetrate the other side it is possible she wouldn't leave much blood--Look for tracks that are really dug in and also look for blood on vegetation that she would have passed by. Typically (not always) a mortally wounded deer will run down hill and will usually run strait thru brush instead of staying on trails. If all else fails search in grid pattern formation and use your nose. let us know if you find her. good luck
Old 11-17-2004, 06:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

id look for the arrow first that could tell you a whole lot, and second i wait an hour before i even go get the arrow so i dont push the deer thats the worst thing you could do..so id say find the arrow first and that will tell you for sure if you hit it..keep us posted
Old 11-17-2004, 06:08 PM
Nontypical Buck