Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Salt lick questions

Old 07-26-2004, 09:59 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default Salt lick questions

I am considering putting out a salt lick. It is a 50 pound block of white salt, I have never done this before so here are the preliminary questions.

1. How long will this last?

2. Where should I locate it?

3. Would it be a good idea to dig a hole to where the top it is at ground level?
Old 07-26-2004, 10:06 AM

Default RE: Salt lick questions

Hey Taz,

Ive used a bunch of them, the best success ive had is to dig the ground up pretty good say 5-6 ft diameter, bust the block in half, then bust one of the halves into small pieces and mix it in with the dirt and put a gallon or two of water on it and leave the other half, half way burried, put it near a creek 50 or so yards is where i have best luck, any more??? let me know, add some deer cocaine to it, trust me it helps
Old 07-26-2004, 10:08 AM

1 It depends on how much use it gets and how much rain you get. If it is sitting in a low spot that holds water it can disolve pretty quick. But don't worry the deer will still lick at the dirt.

2 Locate it someplace that has good deer traffic, it's not going to pull them from miles away. And if you can put it close to water that's good to, they will go from the salt to drink.

3 No need to bury it.

But better than just a salt block is a mineral lick. I use 1 part rock salt 1 part di calcium phosphate, and 2 parts red trace mineral salt. Get the ingrediants in 50lb sacks at the local feed store. So end up with about 200lbs of mineral for about $25
Old 07-26-2004, 10:10 AM
Boone & Crockett

Okay so my basic idea sounds good, I was going to dig the block down about ground level, rack the area up around it and mix in a 5 pound bag of salt, but I will do what you suggest instead.