Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
What do you think about this buck? >

What do you think about this buck?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What do you think about this buck?

Old 12-05-2016, 08:07 PM
Spike

Default What do you think about this buck?

We have caught this buck on the trail cam several times over the past few days. He looks like he has 7 or 8 points with a pretty wide rack. Can someone estimate the spread? And also the age of this deer? I'm not experienced enough to judge that myself, but to me he looks fairly mature. I think he is a shooter, especially for here in SC. What do you think?

https://www.flickr.com/photos/464146.../shares/V9Y635

https://www.flickr.com/photos/464146.../shares/57kff6

I apologize for the picture quality not being the best, and please let me know if the links for the pictures do not work.

Last edited by vipor3d; 12-05-2016 at 10:08 PM.
Old 12-06-2016, 03:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

He's a shooter in my book, maybe 17" - 18" inside spread. Around here if the antlers are just outside the ears they're around 16" inside.
Old 12-06-2016, 02:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

My guess .... 2 1/2 to 3 year old. Looks like he has the width, just not yet the length and mass to be a trophy class in 2-3 years. If you are "rack hunting" and can stand it, let him walk. Of course, he may be in another's freezer if you do !
Old 12-07-2016, 04:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

That's a good looking Buck,nice wide spread....gonna say 3-1/2 to 4-1/2 Year old Buck.
Old 12-07-2016, 08:36 PM
Fork Horn