Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Help me out

Old 11-03-2014, 12:07 AM
Spike

Default Help me out

I am a relatively new hunter. This is my first year archery hunting and the first time having free access to private land. I was hoping you all could give me some tips to take my first whitetail. I only have access to an acre of wooded area but it is part of a pretty big wooded area of all private land. I have not had time to scout in the summer because I just found, out two weeks ago, that I have access to this land. I walked around a little bit and found some deer pellets. I have a climber but the trees that are suitable are few to none and the wind direction never seems to cooperate with the trees I can use. I found a little open area, off of the thickets, where I saw the deer pellets, that has two suitable trees. I put out 50 lbs bag of corn and a trail camera. The corn was gone in 5 days and I have pictures of all does on my trail cam. I put out 50 more lbs of corn. The problem is all the pictures were at night. I have sat in those trees for three days and have not seen anything. I went in 1 and ½ hours before sun rise and left around noon. My first question is, should I bother with rattle bags, calls, and doe estrus, in my situation, because all I see on my cam are does? Two, is this a complete waist of time lol or do I have a chance? Three, am I in the right place or should I move? I wish I could show you a picture of the property but I will try to describe it. The wooded area is shaped like a lowercase n there is a large open field on the north end of the n that I do not have access to. Actually, I only have access to a little sliver of the inside portion of left prong of the n. The woods start out pretty open on the north end ( top of n) and gradually get thicker as you go south. The wind usually blows in the south- south