Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Where to Begin...

Old 11-02-2014, 12:31 PM
Spike

Default Where to Begin...

Good afternoon everyone...I'm completely new to hunting deer. Never had a parent to teach me. Don't really know anyone who is serious about hunting but I want to learn so that me and my kids can spend time together when they get older. Plus being out in the woods is just plain fun anyways.

I've narrowed an area down where I've seen quite a few deer in the past. It's near water, food, and there's acres of extremely thick brush and growth that deer could use for bedding or cover. There's a good size swamp in the area that is adjacent to a large open field. From the little I know this seems like a decent area as any for hunting. I've seen a couple of trucks parked on the side of the road nearby so I guess some other folks have the same idea I do.

Now that I've got an area singled out what do I actually do? Do I HAVE to use a tree stand or can I hunt on the ground? If I hunt on the ground do I have to remain still or can I walk around? Do I just keep walking until I see or hear something? Where should I be walking to find deer? How can I keep my scent down - dowse myself in doe or fox urine? Should I try to avoid bedding areas?

Quite a lot here I know but just looking for any sugesstions. Ideally I'd like to move around as I don't know how I'd get a ladder into the woods for a tree stand but either way. Don't really know what I'm doing so obviously any thoughts or recommendations would be sincerely appreciated.
Old 11-02-2014, 12:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

its called still hunting, take 2 steps as quietly and as slowly as you can, wait for 6 steps always looking and listening, keep the wind in your face, stay after it and it will come.