Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Need help

Old 11-19-2013, 06:37 PM
Spike

Default Need help

Hey fellas. I'm Brandon from NC, I have 3 years of hunting experience so I'm a relatively new hunter. This year I have started doing my own scouting/plots/food sources etc. on my own. My question is, I have a REALLY nice 10pt on my trail camera but I cannot get him to show his face during the daylight. All the pictures of him are about 3-430AM. Also, the doe are rarely showing their face in the daylight as well. Just curious what to do here? I'm hunting from a blind and I have been about 5-6 times this year and have seen nothing. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks guys and glad to be apart of the forums!
Old 11-19-2013, 07:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

find the deer highway's, the rut is getting on and they will be moving a lot...
Old 11-19-2013, 07:29 PM
Fork Horn

There was a particular buck I hunted last year that acted like this. I have hundreds of pictures of him coming out in the same field every single night for weeks. Never once did he ever show himself during the day. The older mature bucks seem to go pretty much nocturnal. I don't know if its from pressure because they don't really have much around here. The buck I shot Saturday only came out during the day once over the last few weeks. I happened to be there that day. Most of them slip up eventually but its not often. You just have to be there when he does.
Old 11-19-2013, 07:32 PM
Giant Nontypical

Opportunities present themselves either on the first day/week of the season and when the rut is in full tilt.

Find the does and hope to get lucky !

Dawn & dust are still your best bet.......................
Old 11-20-2013, 09:59 AM
Spike