Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New guy here

Old 09-24-2013, 05:30 AM
Spike

Default New guy here

I just joined the forums not to long ago and wanted to introduce myself. I have looked through the forums here and there but havnt posted anything yet. When i was younger I would go hunting with my best friend and his dad. Once i got to my later years of high school I faded away from it all and ended up joining the Navy right out of high school. Been in for close to 3 years now and have had a chance to start getting back into hunting. My first question would be what is a decent rifle to begin with? I mostly Bow hunted when I was younger and Muzzleloader here and there but never with a rifle so im new to this side.
Old 09-24-2013, 04:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

Welcome aboard. Lot of knowledge & experience here, and some BS. look forward to your participation.
Old 09-25-2013, 11:13 AM
Nontypical Buck

Really you will have to decide what you like.Me I use a 30-06 Remington and a 30-30 Winchester for close in hunting.
Old 09-25-2013, 01:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

270 or 30-06 good all around weapon...cheapest/best deal is from walmart around $400 I got one around 20yrs ago and it still shoots great!
Old 09-25-2013, 05:47 PM
Spike

Thanks for the replies! I was leaning towards a 30-06 but wanted some input. Planning to have everything ready to go by next season. Being in the military makes getting free time hard sometimes but that is my plan for now.
Old 09-25-2013, 05:52 PM
Giant Nontypical

Welcome

Thank you for your service !!!

Take a look at these;

http://www.ableammo.com/catalog/weatherby-vanguard-rifle-vgs270nr4o-winchester-griptonite-stock-stainless-finish-p-121954.html

http://www.ableammo.com/catalog/marlin-bolt-action-rifle-xl7270-winchester-black-stock-stainless-steel-finish-p-117249.html