Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

does this make sense?

Old 11-27-2012, 06:29 PM
Spike

Default does this make sense?

Does it make sense that the rut would just now be kicking off?
I'm in northwest NC and today without being in the woods i saw a buck chasing does down the street in town haha. My neighbor also bagged a decent buck today and says that he's been seeing more deer lately.

I'm pretty new to hunting but i thought that the rut would be done by now or at least nearing the end.

Last edited by JfO9; 11-28-2012 at 10:10 PM.
Old 11-27-2012, 06:41 PM
Fork Horn

Same here in Eastern NC. Lots of activity this week. I have a nice one outside at the skinning pole as I type.
Old 11-28-2012, 03:04 AM
Giant Nontypical

Not really just now getting going in NC, it's been going on for a few weeks...Look at some of the post over at nchuntandfish.com and you'll see bucks that have been in rut for a few weeks...

Typically the rut in eastern NC will run a few weeks earlier than that in western NC...
Old 11-28-2012, 10:09 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by nchawkeye
Not really just now getting going in NC, it's been going on for a few weeks...Look at some of the post over at nchuntandfish.com and you'll see bucks that have been in rut for a few weeks...

Typically the rut in eastern NC will run a few weeks earlier than that in western NC...
I'm a little confused by the post. Are you saying that its late for eastern nc making it about right for western nc or that it's just late all around? my buddy just shot a doe whos glands were just starting to get dark. About a week and a half or 2 weeks ago i got a scope on a group of 3 does. None of them were in yet judging by the color of the glands on the hind legs.
Old 11-29-2012, 06:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

It appears to be pretty much over here in northern Indiana...