Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Big Whitetail Problems

Old 11-28-2012, 08:21 PM
Spike

Default Big Whitetail Problems

Hey guys hows it going?
I hunt the Eastern Shore of MD on a private piece of land about 100 acres. its about a 50 acre field with a small outcrop of woods on one side (about 2-4 acres) and another 50 acres on the opposite side. There is a small creek that runs through this 50 acres of woods. It is really thick on the outside (Briars, saplings, nasty stuff) and gets really open in the middle around the creek (large oaks). I have been putting out corn in the field for 2 months now and its always gone in a few days. I have yet to see a deer feeding when i am hunting (have tried all times of day). I moved a stand to the woods and shot a small doe and a nice little 4 point. I have seen a couple 8 point+ running around these woods but can never find them other than when i jump them up from the thickets and cant get a shot. I do not try to follow them in fear of pushing them off the property. My question is what should I do to see these deer more often with an oppurtunity to shoot. I am going out Thursday night, all day friday, all day saturday and all day sunday too. probably monday as well (life of a college student is nice). I am thinking of setting up on a railroad bridge where its fairly open in front of me and i can see the thickets on both sides of the woods. You guys have any tips or tricks for me to bag my first big buck? Thanks for the advice guys!
Old 11-29-2012, 04:52 AM
Spike

I'd try to find a pinch point or funnel where the deer walk between food sources and bedding areas. I'd also play the wind and hunt only when it's in your favor. Approach your stand from down wind and cover your scent. Get to the stand before safe light and be patient.
Old 11-29-2012, 05:30 AM
Spike