Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

First timer

Old 11-13-2012, 12:51 PM
Spike

Default First timer

Hey guys im 22 and this is my first year ever "really" hunting and I have a few questions I hope some of you can help me with. I have about 20 acres im hunting on that connects to my land. I can set bait (legal here) and a stand on about ten of it as the other half belongs to another hunter. Heres where my questions come in, Iv started baiting in 3 locations (corn in all 3, sugar beat mineral licks at 2 and swamp donkey feed at 1) just in an attempt to get more deer living here period. Because iv seen virtually no signs besides old trails and the other hunter telling me hes seen 2 bucks and shot a doe on his side earlier in the season. Iv had NO activity on any of my bait so far (been there over 2 wks) and i have a camera on the bait thats been there the longest in the middle. All this land is surronded by fields so alot of people are telling me its just going to take time for the deer to start wanting to eat my bait. My biggest question is if i can hear my neighbors radio and him coughing from where my stand is currently am i to close? SHould i move as far away from people and houses as i can and still stay on my land? A creek runs down the center of the woods, theres thick brush in many areas and plenty of corn between myself and the other hunter in our small area i just dont know what else to do, Iv made a few mock scrapes and droped scent in them in hopes of it pulling in some from a little farther away... Any general advice would be really appreciated I dont really have any hunters to talk to besides on the net and some minor Gym conversation...
Old 11-13-2012, 05:06 PM
Fork Horn