Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hunter Ethics

Old 11-06-2012, 10:58 AM
Spike

"Trophy hunting is not ethical hunting" Really?!?!

I am a meat/trophy hunter but first and foremost I am a conservationist and a sportsman. I care about filling my freezer and I like big antlers on my wall, but also care about the health of the deer herd overall. Something that you obviously do not! I'm speaking to "night crawler" here lol.

I am one of those hunters who sits in the stand and waits for a mature buck, giving younger bucks a chance to grow. I studied wildlife biology, (have a bachelor's in it) I could school you all day long on how those who chose to wait for a mature buck and/or chose to harvest doe for meat are better/more ethical hunters than you, but I won't cause I'm a nice guy. Do people continuously shooting small inmature bucks bother me? Yes, but I WILL NOT ride a high horse and tell other hunters, whose choices, as long as they are ethical and legal, I respect; what they should and should not shoot when it comes to deer or any other type of animal. As a hunter I am kind of appalled that someone would disrespect fellow hunters by stating that waiting for a mature buck is something that you cannot stand. I for one CANNOT STAND people like you who try to make out fellow hunters as the enemy and ridicule them due to their choices of what type of animal they sit and spend their own hard earned time on harvesting.

Have a nice day ya'll!
Old 11-06-2012, 11:11 AM
Nontypical Buck

Whatever floats your boat is fine with me. I have horns all over the place. Can't eat em. A younger one is much more tender than an old warrior. Horns are fine, and if that is what you want go for it. If you are eating tag soup, I will feel your pain, as I am eating my backstrap smothered in onions.
Old 11-06-2012, 11:24 AM
Nontypical Buck