Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Hello hunters! Total newbie here! >

Hello hunters! Total newbie here!

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hello hunters! Total newbie here!

Old 11-07-2011, 08:19 PM
Spike

Default Hello hunters! Total newbie here!

Hey all,

I've been meaning to learn, or at least to try, deer hunting for a while and I'm finally going to take steps to do it. This weekend, I'm going to take the hunting education course required by my state. I'm already watching videos and reading the workbook issued by the state. All this so I can get a license.

I do not even have a long gun - yet. And this is where your expertise would be highly appreciated.

My state (New Jersey) has rifle/muzzleloader days and shotgun days. From what I understand, shotguns have far shorter ranges than rifles, right? Which would mean that shotgun hunting would be significantly more difficult than rifle hunting?

Also, in addition to a weapon, ammunition, winter clothing & boots, a stand, orange vest, a knife for dressing, what other gear will I need?

And lastly:

1. How easy/hard is it to learn how to dress a deer? I am not squeamish; the thought of opening up the body of a dead deer does not freak me out at all.
2. How easy/hard is it to "fillet" a deer's meat, after the outer skin & fur and organs have been disposed of?
3. As a beginner, should I expect a few outings where I will have no kills?

Thanks much!!!!
Old 11-07-2011, 08:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

Welcome! Good luck with your HSC!
Old 11-07-2011, 08:46 PM
Spike

Correct, however there are shotguns that are accurate over 100 up to 150 yards. As for other gear, small set of binoculars would be good, some cover scent, other than that just look around in stores and test things.