Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Choosing a tree stand

Old 03-01-2011, 09:03 PM
Spike

Default Choosing a tree stand

Hey this is my first time here and Im not the most computer savvy person, so I hope I am posting this correctly. I am new to bow hunting and I am trying to choose a tree stand. I am hunting in eastern Mass and have no idea which tree stand is best for my area. Im looking for one that is easy to set up quick and also comfortable. If you have any makes or models that are great and I should look at or any that are terrible and I should stay away from I would love to here from you thanks
Old 03-02-2011, 12:13 PM
Giant Nontypical

All I buy now are ladderstands of this setup...

ladderstand
big standing platform, 20x30"
arm rests
shooting rail
flip up seat

of course I sit on stand from 1st light to last light, being comfy helps keep you there longer!

if you just hunt 2hrs in the morning and night, any piece of junk will work for you.

but especially with a bow I find having a large platform to stand on helps get your stance good and better angles, some of those 10x12" platforms are not only dangerous IMO but try shooting a bow with your feet basically next to each other.
Old 03-02-2011, 12:58 PM
Typical Buck

ive heard good things about lone wolf stands....i have 2 summit climbing stands and theyre both pretty good i think, one is a heavier more comfortable version, the other is the bowhunters version that has a small hand climber you use instead of the large seat. This year im thinking about trying out a trophyline saddle with some wolf climbing sticks or strap on steps
Old 03-02-2011, 04:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Depends on if Your wanting a Climbing Stand,a Hang-on Stand or a Ladder Stand?