Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
New Deer Hunter in need of Hunters Education >

New Deer Hunter in need of Hunters Education

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New Deer Hunter in need of Hunters Education

Old 01-08-2011, 10:53 PM
Spike

Lightbulb New Deer Hunter in need of Hunters Education

I am new to hunting but i have been fishing all my life and comfortable in the outdoors. I never did get to go hunt growing up. Now my children are getting older and I see that its now time to learn how, so when my boys are older I can show them that experience as well. I have very little knowledge about the rifles, permits, licenses, and any equipment needed so any advice would be helpful.

Here is my hunting situation thou:
I live in am 25, live in Texas, and plan to go hunting in south Oklahoma next winter when deer season begins. I have a family member with about 90 acres of land and permission by them to go hunt on the land. So I could put up stands, feeders or anything like that if suggested. I'm not sure of what type of rifles I should look for. The land is about half field and half forest. I also need to know what type of licensee i need to be able to hunt in Oklahoma.
Old 01-09-2011, 06:49 AM
Fork Horn

https://www.wildlifedepartment.com/f...scription.aspx

Here's the site with the different licenses and their prices. It looks like you will need a non-resident deer gun for rifle which runs $280 or a non-resident primitive if you want to go the muzzleloader route which is also $280. Those are the only licenses you need to buy as a non resident.
Old 01-10-2011, 01:13 PM
Fork Horn