Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
What state has the best tasting meat? >

What state has the best tasting meat?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What state has the best tasting meat?

Old 09-21-2010, 05:06 PM
Fork Horn

Default What state has the best tasting meat?

Sitting and waiting for the weekend for my first sit in a stand of the season and all I can think about having a full freezer meat. Braised shank, meatloaf, burgers, tacos, sloppy joes--you name it, I have cooked it and I can't wait to get a refreshed freezer to cook from.
I am new to deer hunting, but I had my fair share of venison. However, the only meat I have ever eaten has been from either from north central Kansas and central Colorado. From what I could tell, the Kansas deer is usually a bit more mild and less fishy than the colorado deer, but who knows if this is always the case. So I ask myself, "What makes good tasting deer meat?" Is it their food? Is it their water source? Is it the climate? What have your experiences been like with venison across the country?
Old 09-21-2010, 05:11 PM
Spike

Thumbs up

Try the deer meat in Nebraska
Old 09-21-2010, 05:19 PM
Typical Buck

Anywhere where their main diet is alfalfa, wheat, corn, soybeans, milo. The deer from northern OK seems a lot milder in flavor than the deer from se OK. Down there, the diet is acorns, acorns and more acorns, along with a few pecans, plums, berries and native grasses. They seem to have a more bold flavor.
Old 09-21-2010, 05:31 PM
Typical Buck

Learn something new every day!
Old 09-21-2010, 06:51 PM
Spike

NEBRASKA!!!!!!!..Being from Nebraska i no for a fact...CORNFED..GO BIG RED!!!
Old 09-21-2010, 07:03 PM
Fork Horn