Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Anaphylaxis shock

Old 09-07-2010, 05:53 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Anaphylaxis shock

Now I know what it looks like. My BIL and I were working the deer leases over the weekend. He got stung by a wasp and ten minutes later was on the ground, unconcious, shallow breathing, eyes rolling up. Fortunately, we were not in the deep woods and instead on his farm so we were able to get an ambulance there.

My BIL has been stung before without a reaction, and I got stung on Saturday without a reaction. Sometimes you just don't know, I guess. He was out of the ER yesterday.

The doctor prescribed an Epinephrine injector to carry with him now.
Old 09-07-2010, 04:45 PM
Typical Buck

Sound like he developed adult onset reactions to a sting. I have been a state certified EMT in Virginia for many years and worked as a volunter on our local rescue squad for a while some time ago. It's not uncommon to see this and it could be a reaction to only one kind a bee but not likley. He needs to keep his eppi pin with him at ALL times from now on even in the winter! Odds are it will make him very lathargic and he still should seek medical attention for the first few times he uses it just to be on the safe side.
Old 09-07-2010, 04:56 PM
Spike