Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Whitetail in the rain?

Old 10-27-2009, 06:39 AM
Spike

Default Whitetail in the rain?

Two part question here:
I'm new to bowhunting deer , this has been my first season out, and I am wondering if the deer move as much when it is raining, or do they usually stay bedded? Is it ethical to shoot a deer when its raining and risk not being able to track well due to lost blood from the rain?
Maybe this is a three part, i originally set up my stand and spotted a few bucks, but they were 50-60 yrds. from my stand so i didnt take the shot. I have since moved closer to where i spotted them, but havent again seen them. Did I move too close?
I hunt New Jersey and any help would be great.
Old 10-27-2009, 07:22 AM
Typical Buck

Deer will move during the rain. Just the other day I had 7 deer under my stand while hunting in the rain. However, if its a torrential down pour the deer will seek shelter. To the second part of your question...I have shot a couple deer in the rain and still found them. I guess it all depends on how good you shot them. On things for certain, I would never attempt a shot n the rain at over 30 yrds. Too much can go wrong and when you don't have a blood trail you want to make sure that you place the shot right where you want it so that the deer will die within sight of you stand. And finally as long as you set up where the wind is in you favor and where you can get a good shot (20 yrds) i think it'll be good enough. If you seen deer there once more than likely you'll see them again if you didn't stink the place up while putting your stand up.
Old 10-27-2009, 07:35 AM
Spike

Thanks for the help. It seems that the only time i have spare to get out, the forcast calls for rain. I'll give it a try.
Old 10-27-2009, 07:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

+1 Tim's comments.
Old 10-27-2009, 08:30 AM