Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Need advice on cold weather hunting gear >

Need advice on cold weather hunting gear

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Need advice on cold weather hunting gear

Old 10-14-2009, 05:29 PM
Spike

Default Need advice on cold weather hunting gear

Hey folks,

I've been hunting for about 10 years now in Delaware County, New York. I primarily hunt from a tree stand and cannot stay warm in cold weather. I've been researching "cold weather hunting gear" and found some information but am seeking more advice here. I have ordered polypropylene fleece thermals, sock liners, and balaclava. I've been using woolrich wool pants and a refridgewear coat for years along with Rocky boots (1,000 grams of thinsulate). My feet alwats get cold! I want to buy some really warm boots and outer layer clothing. What is the best stuff out there for cold weather stand hunting?

Thanks,

John
Old 10-14-2009, 05:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

Smile

For boots, and I know there are different out there now, but my LaCrosse Ice Kings I've had for about 10 years now have kept my feet toasty! One thing you don't want to do is get your feet too sweaty. You can help prevent this by leaving them open and loose until you get to your stand. If you get your feet sweaty, the build up of moisture will get your feet colder. You can tighten them after you get to your stand. Be sure to use polypropylene socks too as the base layer.

I was a hard core fanatical bowhunter and know the importance of warmth while not being all bulked up, so I was where you are now once too.

I like the poly's as well, but in colder weather, I'd double-up on the tops and bottoms. I would get the tops in the tall size so I can tuck them to keep cold air drafts away.

What would really help you is getting products from