Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
what is the best way to get permission to hunt? >

what is the best way to get permission to hunt?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

what is the best way to get permission to hunt?

Old 08-07-2009, 10:44 AM
Spike

Default what is the best way to get permission to hunt?

What is the best way to get permission to hunt from someone you don't know? I am trying to get permission for a few places and need some help because i don't know what to say.
Old 08-07-2009, 10:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

just ask....
Old 08-07-2009, 10:58 AM
Nontypical Buck

Politely introducing yourself and asking is what usually works best. I have had luck by offering to help out on the farm or performing some other service for the land owner. My buddy is a diesel mechanic and I'm an HVAC tech so between the two of us there is usually some service the farmer can find for us. When you save him a chunk of change by tuning up his tractor or fixing his freezers there is a lot more appreciation. Be prepared to hear a lot of NO's, just politely thank him for his time and take your leave.
Old 08-07-2009, 11:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

Always ask if they will accept any of the venison if your hunt is successful. Also when talking in person, never wear any hunting clothes. There's no need to advertise what you want by wearing orange or camo. Being clean and polite always seems to work best. If your request is rejected, politely thank them and move on.

It won't hurt if you bring along a young child. That's what my buddy did when has asked permission with his 4 yr old daughter. The owner and his wife said.."How can I say no to that".

Good luck!
Old 08-07-2009, 11:09 AM
Typical Buck