Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Corn Field

Old 07-27-2009, 04:35 PM

Default Corn Field

hello everybody, new here to the forums and still pretty new to deer hunting. heres my question for you guys.

I just started bow hunting deer last year so im still learning. now the field i was hunting in last year was beans, which was great, saw tons of deer (unfortunatly never got a chance to harvest one of them). The field next to mine was corn. Last year the farmers took the corn down very late in the year which made it really hard to see the dear coming from the other field. This year the field i have permission on is corn. I am sitting in a 15' treestand but if the farmers dont take the corn down early, is this location any good? I have a strong fealing that it will be very hard to get a decent shot unless they are right under me, in which im am not the most comfortable with that shot anyways. Should i be looking at finding a new area until the corn is taken down? thanks for your help, trevor
Old 07-27-2009, 04:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

Personally, I would figure out where the deer are coming and going and set the stand near there. Place it where you're comfortable taking a shot from.
Old 07-27-2009, 07:28 PM
Boone & Crockett

What is surrounding the corn field? If there are hardwood bottoms/hillsides I would set up off of the field where the bucks are going to be staging before dark waiting to enter the field after dark. Hard to really say without more information, but I would look for trails off of the fields.
Old 07-27-2009, 08:02 PM
Typical Buck