Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to EVERYTHING

Old 11-24-2008, 10:24 AM

Default New to EVERYTHING

Hi everyone,

I'm new to everything here. I am 31 and just recently picked up my gun license from NJ. I'm looking at buying my first shotgun and am looking for any suggestions.

I'm a little broke right now, plus I'm incredibly green with hunting. I know everyone must have their favorite make shotgun.

A guy at work was telling me to look for a shotgun with a smoothbore barrel, rifle sights, and an adjustable choke. As a beginner, does this sound good? I'm just looking for opinions from different sources before I pluck down any cash.

Thanks a lot!
Jason
Old 11-24-2008, 10:29 AM

Default RE: New to EVERYTHING

I would look at the Remington 870. If you want to turkey hunt look at the 870 Super Mag.(It can hold a 3.5" shell) It is a good gun you can pick up for around $300. It has adjustable chokes and you can buy a rifled barrel for it later if you want to. But they sell rifled slugs so I wouldn't worry about it.
Old 11-24-2008, 12:44 PM

i got a remington 870 super mag. just put it this way i will never have another shot gun in my hands
Old 11-24-2008, 01:03 PM

My dad has a 870 20 ga. He has had it as long as I can remember, I am 40 now. I picked up a 870 12 ga. last year. I have never heard a bad word about them. Been around forever. Solid gun! I am sure there are others out there, just have no experiance with them.
Old 11-24-2008, 04:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

My first shotgun was a remington 870... Now I use a H&R Ultra Slug for deer, a mossberg 835 for turkeys..But You cant go wrong with a 870
Old 11-24-2008, 04:43 PM
Nontypical Buck