Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

There comes a time

Old 06-13-2008, 07:37 AM
Fork Horn

Default There comes a time

in every mans life when things just seem to come together.

I have been hunting and fishinghard for the past 8 years or so. Mostly waterfowl and other small critters. I've been very successful with waterfowl and have filled up the freezer in just a couple of weeks more times than I can count.

I am 26 years old have shot only 1 deer. It was 6 yrs ago when I lived with my parents. I have had the opportunity to kill many more deer since then and haven't. Why you ask.....I thought you would never ask..........

I would go out hunting and many-a-deer would present that beautiful broad-side that we all dream about, and I just couldn't pull the trigger. The reasoning for this may sound rediculous to you, maybe even uncomprehensible............I didn't have a freezer to put the meat in. You see....when I lived with my parents we had an old stand-up freezer that would make an eskimo proud it was so cold. My parents divorced and I needed to find my own place. I found a nice 2 bedroom apartment with a buddy of mine and it didn't have the space for that old freezer.

Within the past 5 years I have gotten married and have 2 kids and my own house. Well last night I picked up the mack-daddy of chest freezers. She is a beautiful 10cu.ft. freezing machine dressed in white.

This all may seem strange to all of you but, it just makes me reflect all those shots I passed up and still had a great time. It's just a reminder that you always don't need to make that kill.....it's nice just to be out there by yourself or with friends/family. I knew when putting on my boots to get into the tree stand that I wouldn't take that shot, but I was just as excited to get out there as if my freezer was already full.

Thanks for reading

Adam