Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Whats wrong with him?

Old 06-12-2008, 09:50 PM
Typical Buck

Default Whats wrong with him?

Here is a picture from early last season. Do you think this guy will still be deformed this year? Do there racks always come back in the same shape for the most part?

Old 06-12-2008, 09:50 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Whats wrong with him?

Heres another.

Old 06-12-2008, 09:56 PM
Typical Buck

His pedicles are probably damaged.I thinkthey will grow back the same way only bigger.
Old 06-12-2008, 10:01 PM
Fork Horn

MECHDOC is correct as far as I know. I'm no expert but I believe that the reverse is also true, an injured antler can cause odd growth and the pedicle's blood vessels are altered to support that growth. The next year's antler can then be deformed even if it was not injured. Sort of pedicle memory.

Bob
Old 06-12-2008, 11:40 PM

That is very interesting .
Old 06-13-2008, 01:47 AM
Fork Horn

He could also be injured in the opposite back leg, orhe could have problems with his "package". I guess you can only wait and see.
Old 06-13-2008, 05:20 AM
Fork Horn

from what ive read i agree with joeyg. it looks like there might be something wrong with both sides, if thats the case then he probably has something wrong with his package. he could have been born that way or injured thats my best guess. thanks for sharing the photo very interesting.
Old 06-13-2008, 09:44 AM
Typical Buck