Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

hopeful hunter

Old 02-03-2008, 10:38 PM

Default hopeful hunter

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum - actually, I'm new to hunting in general. Back home in Vermont, literally everybody else grew up hunting but me. My teacher once asked my class how many of us had rifles at home, and I was the only one not to raise my hand! Now I live in Virginia and I'm looking to learn more about hunting and how I should get started. Can you give me some advice on things I should be considering? Should beginners start with deer hunting, or consider different game? Thanks!

Corey
Old 02-04-2008, 03:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: hopeful hunter

start off with a hunters safety course.........
BTW , welcome........
Old 02-04-2008, 05:49 AM

im a newb myself, (2 seasons under my belt)

the safety course is a good start but also read read read and try to make connections with guys who are proven hunters.(if you can) visit forums like this one to ask questions and also don't be afraid (the worst they can say is "no!") to ask land owners in your area for permission to hunt and start scouting. more land = more opportunities...

im a late starter myself (im 38 now) but let me tell you, when you see your first deer from your stand (regardless if you get connect or not) you WILL be hooked. good luck
Old 02-04-2008, 09:47 AM
Typical Buck

Welcome..

The best thing to do is find an experienced hunter to go with.. A safety course is good idea also..
Old 02-04-2008, 11:05 AM
Typical Buck