Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 How important is deer hunting in your area. >

How important is deer hunting in your area.

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How important is deer hunting in your area.

Old 01-31-2008, 07:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default How important is deer hunting in your area.

I am a youth pastor and several of my student are like me a love to hunt. Well one of the girls said that her school had over 200 notes from parents saying their child wouldn't be at school today. The reason being today is the last day of deer season. Since over 25% of the school was saying they weren't going to be there the principal went ahead and canceled roll call.

So how important is deer hunting in your town?
Old 01-31-2008, 08:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How important is deer hunting in your area.

Growing up in the sixties and late seventies it was pretty important where I grew up in South Arkansas. The deer season was only a week, with another couple of days after Thanksgiving thrown in. Almost every boy of hunting age was out of schoolthe first day of the season.

It is pretty important now in that area. You walk into the local Wal Mart and half the people are in camo. Forestry companies make good money of leasing land. Hunting probably supports a good part of the economy, also.
Old 01-31-2008, 09:00 AM
Giant Nontypical

important enough that we dont have school on the opener...its the first Monday after Thanksgiving...so they just extend Thanksgiving break.

i dont even get that off for college!

funny, i remember one year they did have school on the opener..not sure why..maybe we were running low on "snow days" or they just wanted to see what happened...they said it was like a ghost school...they didnt do that again...