Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Iowa or Maryland

Old 01-15-2008, 09:02 AM
Spike

Default Iowa or Maryland

Hi guys,

I'm hoping I can get a little help from some local experts in Iowa and Maryland. I'm a wildlife biologist currently attempting to decide between two positions located in Iowa and Maryland (Baltimore). Lets assume that the jobs are equal, and that I would be happy with either.

Like most of you, hunting opportunity will significantly impact my decision. Iowa is obviously renowned for its deer hunting quality, but there are some monster deer coming out of the eastern shore of maryland. Deer are my primary focus species, but I love to chase turkeys in the spring and will duck hunt when the conditions are right.

Let me get to the point. How accessible is quality hunting property in thesestates. --Lease rates, landowners willing to exchange work for hunting quality ofrights, public hunting land, etc. My gut is telling me that I should lean towards Iowa, but I'd be really dissapointed to move there only to find out that the vast majority of quality property is leased or controlled by commercial outfitters.

The only additional consideration is thatIm young (late 20's) and single, so I would be interested in someentertainment during non-hunting season. In each state mentioned, what area would you live (remember wildlife biologists don't make any money).

Thanks for the help.

GaHunter

Old 01-15-2008, 09:12 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Iowa or Maryland

If you choose Iowa, you probably ought to live somewhere near the University of Iowa, where you can "hunt" coeds. Otherwise, the whole state is pretty much just corn and soybean fields. And cows.
Old 01-15-2008, 09:19 AM
Typical Buck