Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

shot placement & meat quality

Old 10-08-2007, 10:07 PM

Default shot placement & meat quality

Hi,

I am a novice hunter and was wondering how shot placement affects the quality of deer meat. Will a shot that stops the heart result in better quality meat than a head shot or a hit in another part of the body?

Thanks.
Old 10-08-2007, 10:11 PM

Default RE: shot placement & meat quality

Nope. Smaller deer sure are tender though.
Old 10-08-2007, 10:56 PM

If you make a bad shot and the animal is able to run for a while before expiring they will produce lactic acid in the meat therefore makin it taste more gamey and tough, so the fast you drop it the better.
Old 10-09-2007, 01:22 AM

Hmm I thought that was a myth *shrug*
Lactic acid is natural at death, no?
Old 10-09-2007, 01:26 AM
Giant Nontypical

I have had young deer tougher then old deer, had relaxed deer tougher then none relaxed deer, does tougher then bucks, farmland deer tougher then forest deer,etc. Other then a poorshot ie: gut shotI think it is more the hand your dealt when it comes to venison in many cases. Saturday I shot a mature mulie dry doe, she was chalked full of fat and was already starting to stink. Honestly i figured she'd beheaded straight for the grinderbut in deboning it tonight I found it hard to cut as she was so tender. My partners was a younger doe and she was nothing like mine. Both deer were relaxed, standing, never travelled a step after the shot, same food sources and care after the shot. Sometimes you are the butt, while others your the boot. Though i certainly believe a clean harvest is always the best and as such the vitals IMHO are the best shot placement to ensure this.