Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Close shot

Old 10-08-2007, 02:53 PM

Default Close shot

I posted this on Tikka 30-06 post.

I have missed a head shot at very close range as well. I am a relative rookie. I have made a head shot at about 70 yds and my gun is sighted in at 25/100 yds.(Also a 30-06). Can you explain to me the very close shot because I have completely confused myself over analysizing the shot. Thanks for input.
[align=right]
[/align][align=right][/align]
Old 10-08-2007, 02:59 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Close shot

My guess is that you pulled the shot.. You don't have a lot of room for error on a deer head.. I used to be a big proponet of head shots, but got to the point where I was afraid I might shoot a jaw off.. Switched to neck shots.. If they have thier head up, you have a lot of room for leeway on trajectory.. So if your1 or 2 inches high it won't matter..
Old 10-08-2007, 06:04 PM
Giant Nontypical

Shoot for the lungs!! They're vitals are bigger then any head or neck shot you will ever have. I just don't get it why people do this! Your not wasteing meat if your behind the shoulder like you would be if you were neck shooting, thats a good roast right there!
Old 10-08-2007, 06:09 PM

Headshot? I have shot lots of deer with rifles (browning .260 A bolt) put it in the kitchen and they are not going anywhere and no wasted meat. Trying to shoot a deer in the head has never even occured to me.
Old 10-08-2007, 06:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

troll
Old 10-08-2007, 07:56 PM
Fork Horn

I shoot 95% of my deer in the neck and its a great place to shoot one . Shot one last sunday during missouris urban portion at 238 yards dropped like a rock. each to thier own but I like it.
Old 10-09-2007, 04:38 AM