Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Spike Deer

Old 01-09-2003, 06:52 PM

Default Spike Deer

Does anyone have a definitive answer on 'spikes'? I have been hunting in Somerset County, PA For the last 15 years. There always seems to be an over abundance of 'spike' bucks. Small, big, short and long, Spikes, and deer of many various sizes. I have been reading many conflicting reports, Penn State, Pa Game Commission, etc. No one seems to agree. Is it diet, are they yearlings, food, genetics? Before teh antler restriction this year, we've always seen ad taken these deer, and rarely killed larger racks, but in all fairness, even the 4-6 and 8 pointers were raghorns. Nothing nice at all. I have a 7 point that had 4 points off one long spike and 3 off the other. I think it's mostly bad genetics with poor food. What does everyone elde think? Anyone recommend any books?
Old 01-09-2003, 07:12 PM

Default RE: Spike Deer

I think the most important factor is genetics. Without good genetics a buck will take years longer to develop a nice rack when compared to one with good genetics.
Look at it this way. Take two humans who decide to increase their muscle mass by lifting weights. When put on the same diet and same workout one is likely to put muscle on much quicker than the other. The reason being GOOD GENETICS. Even if you load the smaller guy up with protein he will have a tough time catching up to the guy with the good genetics.

Eddie
Old 01-09-2003, 07:20 PM