Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Pre-season scouting: any tips? >

Pre-season scouting: any tips?

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Pre-season scouting: any tips?

Old 08-19-2007, 09:55 AM

Default Pre-season scouting: any tips?

This is my first season where I actually have the time and means to do any scouting before hunting season. Since I've never done this before, I really have no idea what to do. I was just going to throw on my camo and go walk around the area I usually hunt. Can anyone give me any pointers?

Thank you.
Old 08-19-2007, 10:48 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Pre-season scouting: any tips?

If you really want to get serious about it, Wear unscented Rubber Boots and use Binoculars......

Deer Hunting and Deer Scouting

Old 08-19-2007, 11:13 AM
Giant Nontypical

By saying this is your first season and you've never scouted before , I take it your new at deer hunting and you don't know what to look for .
With that said .... you got alot to learn in a short time , I suggest you do alot of reading and maybe watch some DVD's as for going out and scouting around , it's getting alittle close to the openner to be wandering leaving your sent behind.
If you do go out make sure you wear rubber boots , some camo clothes and try to be sent free as possable , spray your self and your clothes down with some sent killer .
As you walk in your hunting area look for trails on the ground , a well used trail will be easy to spot it will be well worn and you'll see tracks in it.
Once your on a good trail , walk along side it NOT directly on it you don't to risk leaveing any human sent on it , follow the tracks to see where they take you.
Just keep in mind not to touch anything if your not wearing gloves , as you walk along the trail look for other signs such as old rubs and scraps from last year.