Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Scariest moment in the woods?

Old 01-03-2007, 09:05 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Scariest moment in the woods?

Earlier this season i was sitting behind a log pile waiting for the sun rise andI kept hearinganimals walk through the woods around me. We have coyotes and cougars in the area (though most people dont believe we have cougars) so Im always a little apprehensive sitting on the ground with only my rifle for the hour before sunrise. Anyways, I keep hearing the deer and night critters walking all around me breaking twigs and stuff then it goes dead silent. Because im fairly new to hunting (going on 2+ years),I dont have a lot of experience with wildlife and whatnot so I instantly assume that since everything goes quite, that there is a HUGE blood thirsty predator somewhere in my area and probably right behind me ready to pounce on poor little me. Now, im not sure what to do because if he doesnt see me, then i dont want to move, but dangit, I dont want to get mauled in the back so what am I supposed to do? I didnt get much of a chance to think before the blood thirsty beast lunged at my backside, going for the spine attack at the neck, and then bounced off like a1 pound hacky sack. I got so pale and jumped so fast you would have thought i was white ligtening on the move. I could have cut carpet with the dancing moves ishowed to the wildlife in the area. Turns out a covey/flock/whatever of small birds were nesting in the wood pile that i was sitting with my back to and Im guessing one of the birds didnt realize that i wasnt just part of the scenery. So he tried to land on the inside of my shoulder and thus caused me to darn near dirty my britches and scream like a little girl. The good news though is that 2 hours later a cute little deer walked out and i filled my freezer.