Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What am i doing wrong?

Old 11-19-2006, 08:14 PM

Default What am i doing wrong?

Hey guys,

Ive been hunting for about 2 years now both bow and gun. I am usually in the woods 30-45 minutes before sun-up. I wash all of my clothes in the scent elminator detergant. I wash before i leave with the special soap. I have a climbing tree stand and usually go about 20-25 feet up. I basically follow every rule and guildline in the book to harvest a deer. In the 2 years i have been hunting i have been unsucessful in harvesting anything! Please, someone tell me what i can do better to get me one freaking deer! Tips? anything will help.

Thanks,
Steve
Old 11-19-2006, 08:24 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: What am i doing wrong?

Are you seeing any deer at all?
What kind of land are you hunting on? Public, Private, Wooded, Open Farmland?

Are other people hunting on the same land, and what kind of success are they having?

C. Davis
Old 11-19-2006, 08:28 PM

Me personally, not seen a deer yet in the woods. I hunt mainly on private land. Its my grandfathers and he is a farmer who grows beans. I figured the deer would love them so i hunt right in the corner of an entry to the woods and a big open field, and on the opposite side of the field is some alpha alpha. Other hunters had good success on that same land. a 8 point was harvested about a week ago. and 2 more doe.
Old 11-19-2006, 08:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

The first one is the toughest Steve.
(oops, I was still writing this when the first response popped up.)

It sounds like you've got a good amount of the basics covered.