Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 All Day Hunting, Overrated????????????? >

All Day Hunting, Overrated?????????????

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

All Day Hunting, Overrated?????????????

Old 10-27-2006, 12:23 PM
Spike

Default All Day Hunting, Overrated?????????????

I have been bowhunting whitetails for 22 years now. I have set on all day hunts nearly every year on occasion, during the pre-rut and the rut. i can honestly say that i have never seen or harvested a mature buck from noon to 3pm, WHILE ON STAND. i have taken several good bucks, 7 to be exact.a 14, two- 12's, three-10's, and a nice 8. the two biggest both gross over 155"! I think this year i will probably try to scout or nap during that time frame. How many of you have been on an all day hunt and taken a nice buck, while on stand from noon till 3 pm?
Old 10-27-2006, 12:34 PM

Default RE: All Day Hunting, Overrated?????????????

I usually have to come out of my tree by noon to stretch my legs and get the feeling back in my feet and rear end.
I'd like to stay all day, but I think I would lose my mind...
Old 10-27-2006, 12:48 PM

I was just talking to a couple of bucks last week about this. They said this is america and if they want to get up and move around they will! There are too many variables to just say deer will only move at a certain part of day. Weather, pressure, predators. I Shot a 10 pointer at 2:00pm
Old 10-27-2006, 12:53 PM
Fork Horn