Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Keep'em coming in

Old 10-03-2002, 04:17 PM

Default Keep'em coming in

Hello Everyone,
I live in Central NC and hunt on 10 acres behind my house. I'm new to Deer Hunting so I haven't been able to take up bow hunting yet but I plan to after the season. I've sat in the woods quite a few times and I've already seen 3 bucks ( 4,6,and8 ) and 6 different does. My question is if anyone is aware of a good way to keep these deer on my land. It's killing me to see them and know that I have to wait until Nov. 16 for rifle season to kick in. I hunt by the laws and don't even take a weapon with me. I'm nervous and worried that these deer won't be around when the season finally get's here. I put corn out ( baiting is legal where I live , and I hope that doesn't make anybody mad) and there is ton's of White Oak trees , so there is plenty for them to eat. I'm not a huge Trophy hunter. I would just like to save some money on meat at the Supermarket. Is what I'm doing good enough , or is there better ways.
Thanks to everyone for your help,
RLHanson
Old 10-03-2002, 04:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Keep'em coming in

Just incase you do happen to see something real nice...bring a camera. It would be nice to have something to remember that big one by.
Old 10-03-2002, 04:26 PM

The most important thing you can do,is Stay out of there.Till Nov 16th.
If you dont pressure them.They should stay in that area.If its holding does.You will see more bucks during the rut.

Next spring through in some switchgrass,help build them a bedding area.

It's not how big the Deer,But the size of the experiance that matters!!
Old 10-03-2002, 06:12 PM

Thanks a lot !! I'll stay out.
Old 10-03-2002, 07:24 PM
Typical Buck

rhanson,