Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

First Year

Old 09-26-2005, 09:54 AM

Default First Year

I'm only a few days from 13, and this is going to be my first year deer hunting. I've never been hunting before. I got my hunting tags few months ago. I've already went hunting for small game this year, but we'll wating for big game such as deer. I live in southern ohio, and I'll be hunting. Since I'm new to hunting could anyone give me tips, and stuff. The few times I've been hunting has been great. I've been squalre hunting, I'll be going deer hunting during bow, and gun. I have a cross bow right now, and I got a 12GA for my birthday. My 12GA is a bump action with 2 brawels. I'm sorry for the bad spelling, but I'm not a good speller.
Old 09-26-2005, 10:06 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: First Year

Bighunter, you did'nt mention anything about
Hunter Safety Course, that would be my first
advise to you. This I don't understand "My 12GA is a bump action with 2 brawels."
Is it legal to hunt with a cross bow in your state?

Are you going by yourself? Have you any friends that
can teach you?
Old 09-26-2005, 10:13 AM

I'm hunting with my moms boyfriend, and yes I did take my hunter safty course. Yes, it's legal to hunt with a cross bow in ohio. It's a 12 gauge with 2 bowels. It's pump action.
Old 09-26-2005, 01:19 PM
Typical Buck

Welcome to the greatest sport on earth. Enjoy your first time out, good or bad you will always remember it. The best teachers are a seasoned hunter and time in the field. I have been around for 35 years, 25 of which have been spent hunting, and every year I learn something new. Remember, any day in the woods is better than a day spent inside. Good luck. By the way, you'll never forget your first experience gutting out a deer either (I hope it's not gut shot).
Old 09-26-2005, 03:47 PM
Boone & Crockett