Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Hunting in Southern California... >

Hunting in Southern California...

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hunting in Southern California...

Old 08-22-2005, 11:28 PM

Default Hunting in Southern California...

I'm new to Southern California Hunting and am planning on taking my son to zone D16 this year. Can anyone give me any feedback on decent hunting locations and how the hunting has been lately? Any info is obviously a big help.

Thanks
Mike
Old 08-23-2005, 03:38 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Hunting in Southern California...

not sure there are any deer in southern california. atleast it doesnt seem like it. i've lived here all of my 16, nearly 17 years and I ain't seen one. All the hunting magazines i look at say all the good hunting is up north. really hope you can find some though.
Old 08-23-2005, 08:42 AM
Dominant Buck

You may wish to consult Metro , he lives in your area .
Old 08-23-2005, 11:00 AM
Nontypical Buck

mike,

Welcome to HuntingNet

you might want to post your question in the "west" (regional) forum. Somebody there should be able to help with your question.

In the early 70's while stationed out in S. Cal I hunted a place called "Cleg Horn" Mountain. About 20 miles+ - from Victorville/Apple Valley.

In 4 yrs I took 3 decent bucks(had to be fork horn or better)
Back then the place was full of deer and places where few men had ever walked! God knows what it looks like now with all the developement in 30 + yrs?

Good Luck
Old 08-23-2005, 03:24 PM
Giant Nontypical

Mike Im not sure just how good the deer hunting is in Southern California but I hear the beaver hunting is GREAT ;&gt)

Roll Tide
DD

Old 08-23-2005, 05:37 PM