Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

feild geese

Old 09-14-2002, 09:42 AM

Default feild geese

Hi readers, I am from minnesota and this is my first year as a lone goose hunter. I can not seem to find a pattern to set up my decoys that work. I have a dozen feild deeks but zero ideas on what patterns I should use. Everyone I try seems to bring em in but they flair about 75 yards out! VERY FRUSTRATING......Please if you can give me some advice on what I can do so I can get at least one so my g/f can finally taste the goodness of geese!!!! I am also wanting to figure out on how to call em in too.....seems i pretty lost when it comes to geese!! DOH!!!
Old 09-14-2002, 09:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: feild geese

WIth only a dozen,I'd set them up in small groups of two's and three's.Give them a place to land and as far as calling goes-that's something that comes with practice.
Old 09-14-2002, 11:53 PM
Giant Nontypical

Well I replied to your calling question. I also see you answered some of my questions as well. A dozen dekes is tough, but like it was said set them up in small almost family type groups. You can try making some homemade dekes to add to the spread, plywood painted (a little expensive) or tar paper (cheap). We would cut oblong shapes and place them as feeders (put a little white non glare paint on tips as wings...assuming Canada's are the target). If snows use white bed sheets and tie in some rocks to hold them down. Just some ideas for increasing the spread.

Why Flaring, well many reasons-here are some thoughts.
Blind is not natural, to much movement, glare from dekes, face or gun, to much calling, decoys are placed unrealistic, location of setup is unnatural & hunting pressure.