Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

1st waterfowl shotgun

Old 03-24-2005, 04:15 PM

Default 1st waterfowl shotgun

this is my first post on the forum and i hope i don't open a can of worms here but... i am new to waterfowl hunting. this past season was my first. i borrowed my father-in-law's 870 supermag to hunt with, and bagged a few ducks and geese with it. now that i'm hooked on waterfowl i have decided to buy my own shotgun. i have done a lot of research on the web as to the different types and brands, and i have narrowed it down to three. the 870 supermag, benelli nova pump, and the 835 ulti-mag. i am having a terrible time deciding which one to buy! as i said before, i shot the 870 quite a bit but it never seemed to fit quite right. however, this may be because i've grown up shooting rifles all my life (this was my first season shooting a shotgun). can you guys help me out? how do i decide?

thanks a lot,

adam.
Old 03-25-2005, 07:30 AM

Default RE: 1st waterfowl shotgun

ANY GUN SHOP WILL LET YOU SHOULDER AND SWING A GUN TO CHECK THE FEEL OF IT.

I PERSONIALY PREFER THE REMINGTON . IF NEED BE THEY CAN ALL BE MADE TO FIT YOU THE WAY YOU WANT.

870 EXPRESS SUPER MAG FULL SYNTHETIC=ALMOST INDESTRUCTABLE

JUST MY.02
Old 03-25-2005, 07:36 AM
Nontypical Buck

ive had a remington and out grew it it was a youth model no problems with it
but i have a nova now and you can beat it
Old 03-25-2005, 08:06 AM

yeah i have to say i like the benelli and berettas .... great guns !! .... have seen too many rems and moss malfunction ..... but it all pends on how ya hunt ... if ya hunt like i do ya wanna a real realiable gun ....but then again ... sum days i look like a crawdad layin in shallow water ... lol .... get em how ya can is how i see it
Old 03-25-2005, 12:56 PM

Welcome, Waterfowling is fun and a great way to empty your wallet.