Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Video & Photography
 What gear are you using? >

What gear are you using?

Community
Video & Photography Tips, tricks, and suggestions for videotaping and photographing your hunts.

What gear are you using?

Old 10-13-2006, 11:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default What gear are you using?

Okay so as many of you know, I'm a newbie when it comes to videotaping my hunts. Although I guess that isn't totally true - I did video my dad shooting both a black bear and a moose when I was12 years old with his old Sony Handycam 8mm, but nothing serious.

So this year we, as a company, picked up a Canon GL-2 with a shotgun mic (Audio Technica), a Lone Wolf camera arm, an extra battery, some tapes, and we're on a mission to kill some deer on film.

To this point, my opinion is that this is a lot of work! This camera takes up a lot of room in my backpack and requires me to be a lot more careful when I'm tossing it in and out of my truck, or pulling it up into my treestand. It's also a lot more noise! Setting up the arm, making sure it's level, and getting the camera on it all require a lot of additional noise and movement that I'm not used to. Usually you just climb up into your stand, hang up your backpack, pull up your bow, nock an arrow, and hunt.

I haven't gotten any footage yet, but I'm working on it. I will also be taking turns filming with and hunting with HNI Pres Todd Graf, not just self-filming my rather uneventful hunts. That's an even more exciting adventure - two people, twice the noise, twice the scent, twice everything! I have a newfound respect for the guys who do this for a living - and manage to do it well. Its truly an amazing feat to kill any animal on film, let alone a B&C buck with a bow. That's awesome.