Community
Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

Dog training for pheasant

Old 09-12-2010, 05:46 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Dog training for pheasant

hey guys im kind of new to pheasant hunting. I have walked the waterway behind our family farm quite a few times and so far the only luck we have had is a few rabbits. During harvest we spook them all the time with the equipment and we can see them from the house from time to time but always evade us as we walk. Well I am finally in a financial situation that I was able to get a dog. I went to the pound, and long story short, I walked away with a pointer/mix. The humaine society as well as us believe that she is full blood pointer, but without papers cant be proven. Anyway we have had her less than a month and she is house broke, knows sit, down, stay, come, all of this she had in about a week. she walks right beside me without a leash and now Im trying to find out what to make the next step for her. We practice fetch, and drop. but at only 3 months old dont know if I should start taking her out to the fields and look for pheasant, or if theres anything I should really be focusing on? As i said i really trying to start getting into pheasant hunting so any advice you can give on training the dog, or helping me be more successful be greatly appreciated. thanks
Old 09-13-2010, 05:40 PM
Fork Horn