Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Everyone look, I need advice on calling. >

Everyone look, I need advice on calling.

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Everyone look, I need advice on calling.

Old 03-07-2005, 12:23 PM
Fork Horn

Default Everyone look, I need advice on calling.

OK guys as you know I am a newbie to this. Ok when I get out in the woods and set up how do I call? (soft,loud,purrs,yelps,ect.) When I get a response what do I do? (call every once in a while, often, everytime he does,ect.) When I see him out about 100 yards and he is hangin up? And if he is at a dead run toward me? I have some ideas about some of these but I want to see what everyone else does. I have watched plenty of shows and I am learning. I just want everyone's opinion. Thanks
Old 03-07-2005, 01:25 PM

Default RE: Everyone look, I need advice on calling.

Buckmasterflex,

If you're crazy enough to get in this then we're crazy enough to help you out. Get a CD or tape of live turkey sounds at different times of the day. I'm not sure but I think one of them is called tree top turkeys or something like that. Listen to how soft or loud they call. READ & WATCH everything you can on turkeys & hunting them. There are multiple hunting sites that offer so called "secrets" to be a great turkey hunter, but what has made every great turkey hunter is learning from their mistakes. All of US who have hunted turkeys have made mistakes & sometimes we still do, thats b/c we dont know it all about every given situation.

I hope this helps a little.
Old 03-07-2005, 01:50 PM