Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

just startin need help

Old 02-14-2005, 08:27 PM
Fork Horn

Default just startin need help

I am new to turkey hunting and in need of some help. I have a mouth call (primos diamond yelper) and a slate call (primos ol betsy) and I am trying to learn how to use them. I have read the posts on other people just starting and I am not very good at learning how to do it from reading how. I was wondering if there is any other good ways to learn? Or if their was any one that lives close that would be willing to show me how or any thing like that? I live close to Liberty Indiana. Any info would be greatly apreciated. I don't know much of anything about turkey hunting. Thanks in advance for the info.

William
Old 02-15-2005, 04:00 AM

Default RE: just startin need help

If Liberty, Ind. is anywhere close to Boonvile, Ind. I've got just the place for you.
Old 02-15-2005, 03:35 PM
Fork Horn

I wish it was but it is over 4 hours away. Thanks for trying though.
Old 02-18-2005, 09:02 PM

You got a couple good calls there. I have the ol" betsy and I really like the smooth mellow tones of this call. The diamond yelper is another good one even though I prefer their stacked frame calls. I know it is tough to try to learn this sport via the internet but you are blessed to live in a time of readily avaiable information. You should've tried to get started twenty years ago when oldtimers would rub out any turkey tracks they found to keep others off their birds. I still catch myself doing that from time to time. Try locating videos, many callmakers now sell videos with good instructions on how to use their calls.