Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 what is a good pattern size? >

what is a good pattern size?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

what is a good pattern size?

Old 02-19-2004, 03:20 AM

Default what is a good pattern size?

I am shooting a Browning gold 3 1/2" with a browning extra full turkey choke and Winchester supreme #5's. My question is what is considered a good pattern size? I have been using this gun for three years and have patterened it a couple of times to get it sighted in but I am thinking I should pay more attention to the size of my pattern this year. Also can I shoot Hevi-shot out of my stock turkey choke? Thanks
Old 02-19-2004, 03:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: what is a good pattern size?

While size is a factor, pattern density is what you should be concerned about. A good turkey choke will concentrate the pellets in the center of the pattern. The pellets at the edge of the pattern may be a thinner density, but they wizzed past his head anyway. Most guys use a turkey head target rather than a pattern board to check their patterns for this reason. You could probably shoot hevi-shot through your x-full choke. The x-full factory choke for my BPS mic's at .670. But you may get better patterns from a tube which is designed to shoot hevi-shot.
Old 02-19-2004, 05:54 AM
Typical Buck

...PATTERN SIZE,GOOD QUESTION..MY MOSSBERG 835 THE PATTERN SIZE
IS BASKETBALL SIZE AT 40 YARDS,SOMETIMES TO TIGHT OF A PATTERN
BUT THAT WILL GIVE YOU A IDEA....
Old 02-19-2004, 07:25 AM
Spike

Look at it this way lurchman, you’re trying to hit a target the size of a tennis ball at 40 yards. I use a paper plate and look for the best pattern density in a ten-inch circle at whatever the maximum distance I am planning on shooting.
Old 02-19-2004, 08:03 AM
taw