Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
First time turkey hunter >

First time turkey hunter

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

First time turkey hunter

Old 11-19-2019, 03:13 PM
Spike

Default First time turkey hunter

Hi I’ve been into deer hunting for years , last year really wanted to turkey hunt bad but didn’t get out for spring gobler and now it’s fall and last 2 days are the 28th and 29th , I have 15 acres and have trail cameras that send the pictures to my phone , over past month 4 times I have seen a flock of 12 turkey in one spot I have a stand at , the only thing that scares me about going out , is how do I know they will come through on the 28th and 29th online everyone says I need to find where they roost , how the hell do I do that ? Go outside befor sunrise and use a owl call ? Any help is appreciated as you can tell I’m a beginner in the turkey department , but I’ve talked to turkey hunters and they say it’s amazing and I wanna see what the hype is and might be start of a new future
Old 11-19-2019, 03:47 PM
Typical Buck

If you want to experience the amazing aspects (in my opinion) of turkey hunting you will have to wait till spring. I have killed a couple turkeys in the fall and for me just did not come close to the enjoyment of hunting spring gobblers. But to try and answer some of your question fall hunting boils down to persistence and or luck. Get in the woods and try to find the roosting area or try to locate and bust up the flock and use the kiki run call to call them to you. Fall hunting is certainly a challenge and way funner than setting on the couch. Hope this helps
Old 11-20-2019, 01:41 PM
JW
Super Moderator

What state are you in. I teach a Learn to Turkey hunt program for the state of WI.
Free tag to anybody who has never Turkey hunted.
JW
Old 11-21-2019, 12:55 PM
Nontypical Buck