Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Box calls vs. Scatch calls (advice) >

Box calls vs. Scatch calls (advice)

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Box calls vs. Scatch calls (advice)

Old 04-12-2009, 05:59 PM

Default Box calls vs. Scatch calls (advice)

Hello. I am new to turkey hunting. I have been doing a lot of homework reading various articles on how to scout/setup/call/etc, and would like everyone's advice on a fairly inexpensive call for a rookie turkey hunter.

I did read one article that recommended a high-pitched box call if you live in a traditionally windy landscape (which is where I'll be hunting, wind swept northern plains).

I was at Sportsman's the other day looking at calls, but there are so many in each category I didn't even know where to begin.

From what I've seen on other posts it appears that guys are carrying multiple calls for all purposes:

1 slate call
1 stryker
1 box call
2 mouth calls
1 owl hooter
1 crow call

My dilemma is that I want to ease my way into it. I can maybe budget for 2 of these. I am looking for inexpensive, and ease of use, and hopefully somewhat effective.

Any and all advice and specifics on brand/model would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Old 04-13-2009, 02:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Box calls vs. Scatch calls (advice)

I'd recommend a "slate" and a box call. Reasons... It's hard to not sound like a turkey on a slate. You can be loud, you can be subtle. They'll sound different with different strikers. A box call is great in the wind. You can crank out some really attention getting yelps and cutts on a box, and... you can gobble on a box call with a rubber band, by turning it over and shaking it by the handle. Those two calls give you a lot of versitility.
Old 04-13-2009, 04:00 AM
Typical Buck