Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 BEARDED HENS,HOW COMMON ? >

BEARDED HENS,HOW COMMON ?

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

BEARDED HENS,HOW COMMON ?

Old 04-16-2003, 06:58 AM
VP

Default BEARDED HENS,HOW COMMON ?

HOW MANY OF YOU FELLAS HAVE ENCOUNTERED BEARDED HENS ? WE JUST GOT BACK FROM TX WHERE I SAW ONE. IT WAS PROBABLY THE WEIRDEST THING IVE SEEN AND THE FIRST ONE I HAVE EVER SEEN, JUST WONDERING HOW COMMON IT IS IN OTHER STATES. THE RANCHER IN TX MADE IT OUT TO BE A REGULAR THING OVER THERE BUT IVE BEEN HUNTING IN LA FOR 15 YRS AND NEVER SEEN ONE OVER HERE. WONDER IF ITS JUST THE RIOS THAT PRODUCE IT MORE COMMONLY THEN EASTERNS OR OTHER SPECIES OF TURKEYS? ANYONE HAVE PICS OR THOUGHTS ON IT??

" MAY YUR BEARDS BE LONG AND YUR SPURS SHARP"
Old 04-16-2003, 07:03 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: BEARDED HENS,HOW COMMON ?

BP, from what I' ve read on the board before on this subject, their quite common in some parts of the US and in other parts their veruy rare. I' ve been huntin turks fior almost 20 years , and I' ve never seen a bearded hen. their not very common here in south Ar.
Old 04-16-2003, 07:25 AM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 04-16-2003, 08:07 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have found that therenot uncommon at all.
I have seen every speice of hen with a beard and could have taken a bearded hen Grandslam, kinda wish I had of now...BT

I hear ya S&R
Old 04-16-2003, 09:53 AM
Nontypical Buck

As genetics becomes more commonplace in game species, we' ll have a definitive answer.

As it stands, there does seem to be a genetic inheritance for bearded hens. Hence, a single population in a relatively small area (say 100 acres) may have a very high population of bearded hens, as high as 25%.

As these hens radiate out from their maternal flocks, they will produce more bearded hen offspring.