Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Knight and Hale Ol' Yeller Slate Call >

Knight and Hale Ol' Yeller Slate Call

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Knight and Hale Ol' Yeller Slate Call

Old 04-25-2007, 09:20 AM
Typical Buck

Default Knight and Hale Ol' Yeller Slate Call

I've been looking at this one at my sports store and was wondering what the pros and cons are of them.

one more question: on slate calls, what do you do with the sand paper? isn't it for the "stick" so when the end gets glazed over, you rough it up? i'm new to this calling stuff!
Old 04-25-2007, 09:41 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Knight and Hale Ol' Yeller Slate Call

The Ol' Yeller is an excellent call IMO. It sounds good, and it gets the birds fired up as good as any other call if they're in the mood. Its also pretty easy to use for a beginner. The sandpaper is to keep the call roughed up.Its best to rubthe surface of the call in one direction and strike across the direction you sanded.You should also periodically use the sand paper to clean the tip of the striker. If I was to recommend one call for a beginner, that would be it. I also like the Primos Power Crystal, although that is a bit more work to get sounding good initially. Once you rough up the Power Crystal, its a pretty sweet sounding production call.

Good Luck!
Old 04-25-2007, 09:42 AM
Typical Buck

i use the ol yeller but im new to slate calls to so im not sure what to tell you but seems to sound really good got a turkey to answer back to it yesterday was just messin around cause my season dont start till may 1st
Old 04-25-2007, 10:22 AM